What’s your ‘feeling’ about pantyhose?


Robin Maryland, president, ActSensuous

      What is it that we love so much about pantyhose?  Is it the look, the feel, or both?  

     Most people will admit that pantyhose look better than bare (bear) legs.  I believe true lovers of pantyhose love their feel as much as their look. 

What is silky?   

     Almost universally, people say pantyhose have a silky feel, probably because that’s the word they’ve always heard associated with pantyhose.  But when they describe how pantyhose feel to the touch, most people use words such as “smooth,” “slick” or “slippery.”   

      I have always thought of pantyhose as “silky,” but to me, “silky” means extremely soft and delicate like the silk of a spider’s web. 

Not exactly silky

      When Lycra or Spandex are added to the nylon fabric, you get a “support” effect.  That can be good for keeping pantyhose from sagging, or for therapeutic reasons.  You get a  smooth, slick or slippery feeling to the touch.  If you run your hand over pantyhose like these, it will slide across effortlessly, as if on a glassy surface  — like running your hand over a  dolphin as it swims by.  

     I do understand how some people are attracted to pantyhose made with a bit of Lycra.  They can look alluring and still feel petty nice.  On the other hand (or legs), pantyhose made with a high degree of Spandex become real shiny (yeah, I know many people really like shiny) and elastic.   To me, those pantyhose feel like a rubber band stretched to the max.

      There’s a reason why women say they hate pantyhose and complain that they are too tight, too hot and just too uncomfortable. 

Give and take

     What I love is the extremely soft and truly silky texture you get from 100 percent nylon pantyhose.  I love that when you touch that fabric, it touches you back.  It gives.  It moves.  When you touch this fabric, you can really feel it, and you can make the person wearing it feel what you feel because the pantyhose will move on her legs, forcing her to “feel” the soft and silky fabric against her body. 

     And then, there’s the overall concept of 100 percent nylon pantyhose.  There’s just something very sexy about the sense of vulnerability that truly silky and delicate pantyhose provide.

     Most of the pantyhose you find on the market today are made with some degree of Lycra or Spandex.  What bothers me is that women who think pantyhose are uncomfortable might never have tried anything but that kind of pantyhose.  Perhaps they don’t realize they have a choice. 

     I can’t fathom how anyone would describe the feeling of 100 percent nylon pantyhose as “uncomfortable.”  The way I see it, nothing could be more soft, silky and delicate than 100 percent nylon pantyhose.  They make your legs look perfect, they feel so nice on, and they feel incredible to the touch. 

     Pantyhose can be practical:  The right thing to wear at the office, proper for a formal or special occasion, or good for a massage.  Or, pantyhose can be beautiful, decidely feminine and very sexy.  You do have a choice.

About ActSensuous

I am a business executive, a former journalist, and a martial artist. I have always loved pantyhose. I founded ActSensuous in 2001. I write the ActSensuous blog because I want to be the voice of hope and reason for pantyhose lovers throughout the world. I want to carry the torch for the return of pantyhose to favor in all areas — fashion, entertainment, business, and as a major element of pop culture.

Posted on September 6, 2010, in Nylons, Pantyhose, Pantyhose fetish, Why women think they hate pantyhose, Why women won't wear pantyhose and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 33 Comments.

  1. Hey Robin.
    I wonder when you first
    developed your love for pantyhose. If I
    may be so bold to ask. I dont know if
    anyones asked you this before

  2. I In high school there were two girls who
    were good friends and they could frequently
    be seen together.One girl would be
    considered a beauty queen by most guxs

    and the other one was like a plain jane.
    The one most guys considered a plain
    jane would consistently wear dresses
    high heels and pantyhose two or three
    times a week.the other would hardly ever
    wear a skirt or dress and when she did
    it was with bear legs.Most of my friends
    would starf at the bear legged one and
    they thought i was odd when I Would Be
    staring at the plain jane with the nice
    legs..The plain jane would end up being
    mx first girlfriend and my prom date.

    At The prom her friend wore a pair of
    pantyhose and after the prom she took

    her pantyhose off and gives them to me
    saying these things are uncomfortable and
    they itch like hell.Her Friend Told her to
    do that.When I got home I hid them in
    my closet.Referring to the fetish before and
    my secret collection.In The End the plain
    jane won me over with her love of pantyhose

  3. Well They Are The Sexiest Thing a female
    could wear..I know Robin dont say it

  4. I think that hosiery could steal the cotton slogan “the touch, the feel, the fabric of our lives”. It really is so many things. Very soft to the touch and sensual for the eyes. They do appeal to all the senses in some way or another. I’ve made a habit to encourage the ladies I’ve dated over the years to wear them. There is no other item that will catch my attention and hold it than hosiery clad legs.

  5. Loved this blog. I discovered I had a pantyhose fetish. They were worn quite a bit by my mother and sister so they had them around quite a bit. I tried on a pair they had stored in a bag and was hooked ever since. When I met my wife I hid them from her at first. But then after we started living together, before we got married, she happened to find my stash one day. I came home from work and she wanted to know if I was having an affair or if I was stealing clothing from people. I explained my fetish to her, and she though it was humorous but also cute.

    After that is has been awesome ever since. I buy some of my favorite brands for her to wear and sometimes she even picks me up some that she knows I’ll like. She don’t wear them, but will if I ask her to because she likes how they turn me on. Even in the bedroom things are awesome. I would say that it is much easier to have a wife who understands the fetish and has a good time supporting you and knowing what turns you on.

    I do not wear them in public, because for me it’s a more private sexual thing. But I always love to make excuses on why I need to use them. I take a pair of sheer and a bunch of peds (their free! just go shoe shopping with the wife and get a bunch! LOL) camping with me. They do keep the ticks off, can be used as a coffee filter, they are warm at night, you can put a bar of soap in them to use for washing, place them over bowels to keep bugs out, ect, but really I love to wear them sleeping in the nylon hammock in them with a fleece over top.

  6. not just fleas..but they will protect you against jellyfish sting..as strange as it sounds..its been proven ..

    when i was 8..mum put tights on me to keep warm while i was sick..i thought nothing at all of it..some time later my cousin came came over wearing pantyhose..she had found a bag full of her mums old ones..i was admiring them and she asked me if i wanted a pair…ok..she went home and came back a short time later with pantyhose in hand..so there i was putting on my aunts old pantyhose..they felt sooo much different to the tights..and i,llnever forget those first feelings..the way they rubbed all over my legs..the butterflies in my stomache..there was no turning back..that was 37 years ago..

    i really dont know why some women choose to dispise them..but they will wear a thong that cuts them in half ,get boob implants,liposuction,botox all for the sake of beauty..bless their hearts..but if your a leg man..none of it really matters

  7. I came up with sixteen good reasons why Pantyhose are good to wear. There are
    probably some reasons that can be argued and some additional reasons that I can’t
    think of, nevertheless they are listed below.

    PANTYHOSE AND WHY YOU SHOULD WEAR
    (1). Keep ticks from attaching to your legs
    (2). Keep fleas from biting
    (3). Reduce leg fatigue
    (4). Improve blood circulation in legs
    (5). Control varicose vein condition
    (6). Keep legs cooler in hot weather
    (7). Keep legs warmer in cold weather
    (8). Eliminate chaffing
    (9). Improve shoe life over bare feet
    (10). Support for men if control top is used
    (11). Improve appearance
    (12). Eliminate need for a panty or brief
    (13). Prevent foot callos if
    (14). Nylon is virtually non-alergenic
    (15). Great for people suffering with psoriasis
    (16). Provide legs with a very smooth feel

    • Hey Mike,

      Thanks for your comment. I would imagine you’ll get some replies to this. Here’s my take:

      (1). Keep ticks from attaching to your legs
      It’s rare we even see women in pantyhose at the office; I kinda doubt they’re going to be wearing while hiking in Alabama.

      (2). Keep fleas from biting
      Once, I accompanied a girlfriend to check out an apartment she was thinking about leasing. We both noticed a bunch of black specks on her pantyhose. Turned out the place was infested with fleas, and later, we noticed somehow they had worked their way through the pantyhose and onto her skin. That was weird. (She didn’t rent the place.)

      (6). Keep legs cooler in hot weather
      (7). Keep legs warmer in cold weather
      Huh? My whole life I’ve had to listen to “It’s too hot to wear pantyhose in the summer,” and “It’s too cold to wear pantyhose in the winter.” Now, I’m confused!

      You’ve put a lot of thought into this, Mike, and you’ve made some good (and very amusing) points. Thanks for that. It’ll be interesting to see what others say.

      Robin :)

      • (1). The tick thing I’ve proven not to be a myth as I have to work in tick infested areas and so far with the hose on I’ve never been bothered other than above the waistline i.e. scalp ;^ (
        (2). The flea thing I haven’t proven. I only read that they sent a bunch of pantyhose over to the gulf war for soldiers to thwart the sand fleas. Maybe sand fleas are different than our typical fleas.
        (7). I have proven both of these. I wear hose both in hot and cold weather. My legs actually do feel cooler in the hot weather.

  8. For some reason, I use to think that sheer to the waist 100% nylon pantyhose were a cross between the softness of semi-opaque pantyhose and the transparency of very fragile ultra sheers. But that was a long time ago. R.M.

  9. Hurray for all the lovely ladies who are the hoisery battlefront so to speak fight the good fight we true men love to see sensuous ladies wearing lingerie, hoisery, etc. keep up the good work and spread the word

  10. I sometimes wonder how cheerleaders and the waitresses at Hooters restaurants would look if they wore actsensuous pantyhose instead of those shiny support pantyhose. E.M.

    • Thanks for your comment, E.M.

      You know, I’ve often wondered that myself. Actually, I know how they’d look in ActSensuous pantyhose — AWESOME!

      Robin

      • They Certainly would look Awesome in ActSensuous pantyhose..

        Not forgetting how they would feel wearing a pair of ActSensuous pantyhose…. A truly positive experience…

        Take Care

        Carl

    • agreed..the hooters hose look nice but arnt that comfortable at first..they feel more like tights and take some breaking in..i think they should be abble to choose for themselves whats more comfy to each theirown

  11. Pantyhose is the best invention ever made when in comes to legwear. They are like “make-up” to a woman’s legs. The softness, sheerness of 100% percent nylon pantyhose truly enhances the natural beauty of a woman’s legs. It’s so sad how a lot of women hates pantyhose but they love to wear make-up to be noticed. They should use that same concept and apply “make-up (sheer pantyhose)” to those bare legs and they will really get a lot more attention. R.M.

  12. “Naturally Sheerness” and “Irresistible Softness” from waist to toe is what I think about when it comes to 100% nylon pantyhose. This is what pantyhose should be like. No lycra, spandex, control top, etc. Just sheer 100% nylon from waist to toe.

    • Thanks for your comment, R.M. Obviously, I agree with you!

      • I 100% agree also….
        More people should discover the wonder of 100% nylon pantyhose….

        ActSensuous…. A fine gossamer of fabric between you and the outside world…

        Take Care

        Carl

      • In my opinion, actsensuous pantyhose are so soft and sheer, they should be called “Ultra Soft sheer to waist 100% nylon pantyhose”. Classic sheer and Dress sheer best describes actsensuous pantyhose.

        • Hi, R.M. Thank you for your kind words, but you’re killing me here.

          It’s bad enough that your initials are R.M. (like mine), so it probably looks like it’s me writing these comments, but then you go and say those nice things about our pantyhose. Look, folks, most of the people who comment on my blog posts are not customers, including R.M. who comments a lot (thank you), but only just became a customer this week.

          More disclaimer: You do not have to be a customer to comment on my blog post. And anyone will tell you that my blog is for your entertainment only. Commenting on my blog posts (please do) doesn’t put you on some list to receive emails or solicitations from us to buy our pantyhose. I keep the blog completely separate and will never contact you (except maybe to thank you for commenting.)

          Anyone notice that, until today, you haven’t seen a new blog post from me since January? I get very discouraged when I write Pulitzer-quality pieces and no one bothers to comment. So, puh-leeeeease participate.

          OK, lecture over. Thank you again, R.M.

          Robin

  13. New customer and just bought a few pair for my wife. They look and feel amazing, will be using them quite OFTEN :) cant wait to see her in them more

    • Hi Joe,

      Thanks for your comment. You didn’t have to endorse us, but thanks for that. Glad that your wife and you like our pantyhose.

      Robin

      Editor’s note: My blog posts are open for your comments. You can agree or disagree with my point of view on things. While comments about how much you love ActSensuous are appreciated, the purpose of the blog really is to talk about pantyhose in general.

  14. “What’s your ‘feeling’ about pantyhose?” 2

    After my other posting another word came to mind about the feeling about 100% nylon Pantyhose. “Gossamer”

    Gossamer.. A thin light sheer transparent fabric…

    Actsensuous. 100% Nylon pantyhose are highly recommend for a truly positive pantyhose experience… There is nothing like it…

    Take Care

    Carl

  15. There is something so unique about sheer to the waist 100 percent nylon pantyhose that outbeats all other hosiery. The natural silky softness, the exquisite see-through sheerness are what 100 percent nylon pantyhose should always look and feel like. These are the type of pantyhose that makes you want to dress up just because you enjoy wearing them.

  16. What’s your ‘feeling’ about pantyhose?

    When i think about the feeling of 100% nylon pantyhose… One word comes to mind “Pure”

    Pure.. pleasure to wear.

    Pure.. comfort and feeling to wear.

    Pure.. lustrous and smoothness

    Pure.. 100% nylon without the lycra.

    Pure.. perfect looking legs.

    Pure.. Unforgettable experience.

    I can recommend 100% pantyhose to everyone.

    Take Care

    Carl

  17. I love both the look and feel of pantyhose. The way they look and how they cling to a woman’s legs like a second skin is so sexy. The ones made with 100 percent nylon are like heaven on a woman’s legs. The extreme sheerness and softness of the pantyhose are so naturally silky. Support pantyhose are silky also but they are nowhere near as beautiful as the ones with 100 percent sheer nylon. I just can’t see how lots of women can’t stand wearing these beautiful articles of clothing. If I was a woman, I would wear 100 percent sheer nylon pantyhose almost everyday.

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 91 other followers

