Who’s the next Pantyhose Goddess?


Robin Maryland, president, ActSensuous

Hollywood has always blessed us with glamorous actresses who set the beauty standards of the day.

From the late 1960s through the mid-1990s, nylons were as much a staple in Hollywood as makeup.  So while it wasn’t unusual (until now) to see a TV or movie star wearing nylons on screen, a few actresses actually distinquished themselves as what I am calling Pantyhose Goddesses.

Julie Newmar appeared on Broadway in the 1950s, and had many starring roles in television and movies during the 1960s, possibly none more auspicious than her role as Catwoman on the Batman TV series.

At 5’11, 135 pounds and with 37-inch legs, it wasn’t hard to notice Newmar, but she was more than just a Hollywood glam-girl.  She did one thing that will link her to pantyhose forever – she designed her own, actually winning a patent for her design in the mid 1970s.  She called the pantyhose “Nudemar” and marketed them during the 70s and 80s.

Julie Newmar was a true Pantyhose Goddess in her day.

She said she invented them out of necessity:

“I have two drawers of pantyhose, but I don’t like what they do for my backside.

“It’s a simple improvement.  I just gathered the back seam, but it gives a woman the firm fanny of a 12-year-old.”

I like the fact that she had two drawers full of pantyhose.

In the 1970s, Catherine Bach played the character, Daisy Duke on the Dukes of Hazzard TV series, wearing short, tight cut-off jean shorts, which would become known as “Daisy Dukes.”      Apparently, network censors believed that the cut-offs were so short, that the the producers could get them on air only if Bach wore sheer-to-waist pantyhose with them, to ensure that the shorts didn’t reveal more of her than intended.

Bach certainly created a pantyhose identity for herself, if not an entire fashion trend.

But, perhaps, no actress aligned herself with pantyhose more than Joyce DeWitt during the 1970s TV series, Three’s Company.   On its Web site, Central New York Promotions states:

Being an avid pantyhose wearer, DeWitt is famous for refusing to do any scenes bare-legged. When shooting Three’s Company (1977), she always wore either pantyhose or tights, and refused to work bare-legged. Though this caused conflict between her and the show’s producers, it endeared her to hosiery manufacturers, and she became the spokeswoman for L’eggs pantyhose in the late 70s.”

That kind of professionalism, commitment to femininity and just plain good taste is very rare today.  I liked Joyce DeWitt’s style back then, but having learned her story, I’m even more impressed with her now.

I wonder:  What other actresses could or should have become Pantyhose Goddesses back in the day?

     Again, during the 70s, 80, and 90s, pantyhose were the standard of class, elegance and glamour, so actresses wearing them on screen wasn’t at all unusual.  Still, some stars just stood out from the crowd, and in the process, pantyhose gained cult-level status.

Kim Basinger starred in many movies during the 1990s, always wearing beautiful sheer pantyhose.

During the 80s and 90s, I have to say that my favorite stars who could have earned the title of Pantyhose Goddess were Kim Basinger, Michelle Pfeiffer, Linda Fiorentino and Geena Davis.

And then, there was Markie Post, Goldie Hawn, Shelly Long and Christina Applegate – all truly lovely and classy pantyhose babes.

Honorable mention could go to Jennifer Tilly, who was almost always seen in pantyhose and looked awesome in them; Fran Drescher, who really did align herself with pantyhose; and one Parker Posey, who actually was known as “Miss Pantyhose.”  This was never more evident than in the role she played as a vampire in the third installment of  Wesley Snipes’ Trinity trilogy.

Today more than ever, we need a Pantyhose Goddess in Hollywood – someone whose beauty, class and grace is so awe-inspiring that, when she permanently aligns herself with the wearing of pantyhose, it would make for an irresistable combination that would once again propel pantyhose to cult-type status.

Sandra Bullock

She’s always been so classy, and, until I saw The Proposal, I didn’t think I’d ever see her not wearing pantyhose.  She kinda let me down on this one, especially because her role in this movie was a corporate executive.

Even though she is beautiful and classy, I don’t really see Sandra in the Pantyhose Goddess role.  I think deep down, she’s sees herself as kind of a tomboy.

I believe she’ll usually choose to wear pantyhose for the proper occasion, but I don’t think it would be for any reason other than just good sense.

Nicole Kidman’s fabulous legs are always in pantyhose on screen.

Nicole Kidman

I don’t know if she’s been around long enough, is sought-after enough or revered enough, but I would love to see Nicole take this title.

Lately, I never see her on screen not wearing pantyhose, and it would be hard to find someone who looks better in them than her.

I’ve always liked Nicole, and I think she’s got the class and grace to be the one.

Milla Jovovich

The more I see her, the more I love her.  She is beautiful, but she’s also powerful and edgy.  And she’s here and now.

I love her in the Resident Evil movies, and I’ve seen her in many public appearances where she almost always is wearing pantyhose.   Not only that, but she also is a professional model who more often than not is shot in sheer pantyhose.

Milla is classy and cool, and I think she deserves to be considered a true Pantyhose Goddess.

Catherine Zeta-Jones

Catherine Zeta-Jones has the beauty and class to be the current Hollywood Pantyhose Goddess.

Catherine always carries herself with class and grace, and I never see her not wearing pantyhose.

There’s just something very captivating about her.

She has the beauty and the charisma to be the next Pantyhose Goddess, but also, she’s got the credibility and the relevance that it would take.

Morena Baccarin

That’s right, Anna, the head alien visitor on the TV series, V.

If an evil overgrown lizard who’s out to take over Earth can look that incredible in pantyhose (and she is never not wearing them on the show) she gets my vote for Hollywood Pantyhose Goddess.

Update 2013:   OK, I had based that opinion when this was written in 2010 only on what I saw of her in V,   having never heard of her before that show. Since then, I’ve seen her on many a late night talk show where she wears beautiful dresses and heels, but no pantyhose … ever!  And I’ve seen many photos of her during publicity appearances, also mostly “bear”-legged.

Just goes to show that at the end of the day, you really can’t trust an alien visitor trying to take over the world.  Too bad because Baccarin certainly looks amazing in pantyhose.  Yet, “The truth is out there:”  She doesn’t look good at all “bear”-legged.

Julianna Margulies

She might already have this title, and that would suit me just fine.  As The Good Wife, she always dresses professionally and looks great in pantyhose.  Better still, she most-often makes public appearances and guest spots on late night talk shows dressed the same way.

It really bothers me when the big stars, even when they wear pantyhose for their roles on screen, think they’re somehow obligated to follow the “trend” and go bare-legged out in public, especially, if it’s a talk show with a younger host who caters to a younger audience.

But that’s not the case with Julianna.  She always dresses beautifully and does the right thing by wearing pantyhose.  Maybe she should be the Hollywood Pantyhose Goddess.  Maybe she already is.

Update 2013:  All that might have been true when this was written in 2010, but it seems Margulies has allowed herself to be brainwashed by the masses, as I’ve seen her “bear”-legged a few times during public appearances.   That seems to indicate that it’s the professionalism, class and good taste strictly of the costume designer and producers of The Good Wife and NOT Margulies herself who deserves the credit for her wearing pantyhose on the show.

Meredith Vieira

Meredith already is a Pantyhose Goddess.  Here’s why:  Not only does she always wear pantyhose on TV shows and in public appearances, she actually has gone on record saying she “likes wearing pantyhose,” even admitting that she doesn’t wear anything underneath.

Meredith definitely deserves consideration for Pantyhose Goddess.  The question is:  Is she relevant enough today?

Honorable mention

Obviously, Anne Hathaway and Zooey Deschanel deserve consideration for Hollywood Pantyhose Goddess.  Of the two, Zooey is the more devoted and consistent wearer for all occasion and venues.  I didn’t feature Anne and Zooey here only because I think they’re too obvious, and both already might be Hollywood Pantyhose Goddesses.

Finally, I’ve got to say that I like what I see from Megan Fox, Kate Moss, Jessica Alba and Kate Beckinsale.  And, thankfully, there are many other young actresses out there who seem to understand the allure of pantyhose.  Are they ready to become Hollywood’s next Pantyhose Goddesses?  Perhaps.

OK, who’d I leave out?  I know you have your favorites, and I’d like to hear who they are and what you have to say about them.

About ActSensuous

I am a business executive, a former journalist, and a martial artist. I have always loved pantyhose. I founded ActSensuous in 2001. I write the ActSensuous blog because I want to be the voice of hope and reason for pantyhose lovers throughout the world. I want to carry the torch for the return of pantyhose to favor in all areas — fashion, entertainment, business, and as a major element of pop culture.

Posted on October 2, 2010, in 'Resident Evil' movie and pantyhose, 'The Visitors' and pantyhose, 'V' — The Visitors and pantyhose, Aliens in pantyhose, Anna of 'V' in pantyhose, Anne Hathaway and pantyhose, Catherine Zeta-Jones in pantyhose, Celebrities in pantyhose, Fran Drescher in pantyhose, Geena Davis in pantyhose, Hollywood celebrities in pantyhose, Joyce DeWitt in pantyhose, Julianna Margulies and pantyhose, Linda Fiorentino and pantyhose, Meredith Vieira pantyhose, Milla Jovovich and pantyhose, Morena Baccarin in pantyhose, Nicole Kidman and pantyhose, Nylons, Parker Posey in pantyhose, Professional entertainers in pantyhose, Professional performers wearing pantyhose, Sandra Bullock and pantyhose, Sheer-to-waist pantyhose, Stars in pantyhose and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. I definitely vote for Morena Baccarin as the new Pantyhose Goddess, she has all that is required, beauty, class, elegance and a very well proportioned body.
    This is my first comment on this wonderful site, and looking forward to participate more often on this subject that I hope make a statement in fashion these days.

    • Hi, Julio.

      Thank you for your comment. I am glad you’ve found my blog, and I look forward to further participation from you.

      I like your choice of Morena Baccarin as the next pantyhose goddess. You’re right — she does possess all the qualities it takes. Heck, she even makes aliens from another planet beautiful.

      Best wishes,

      Robin

  2. Amy Robach would get my vote as being the modern day pantyhose princess/Goddess. Check out Youtube.com for tons of videos of her in sheer black pantyhose. Also she is in nude, tan, all different colors and textures. Her legs are just so gorgeous and shapely and toned. I have a million adjectives to describe how sexy her legs are. If you have a moment you should perform a search on Youtube and see for yourself. Many of the videos are in high definition.

  3. J Lo or Carrie Underwood. Either one would be an awesome choice to step-up and show those legs….

  4. I think Katy Perry deserves a mention here…only to show that she often wears pantyhose in appearances, concerts, and videos.

  5. Hi there Robin.

    I LOVED this blog, perhaps my favorite to date because it helps me appreciate just how much loveliness has been available to me on television or in movies over the years – helps me stop grousing and instead applaud all the women on your list. Ironically, I am currently doing some classwork not far from the Big Apple and I must tell you that a HUGE percentage of women breezing past me from all walks of life are most definitely carrying themselves as if they wish to be the next pantyhose Goddess – not much of a bare leg culture as I had figured on encountering. Isn’t this where ‘Sex And The City’ was based? Hmmmm…the times, they are a changin…

    I require no time or energy at all giving Meredith Vieiera my vote for the title of Goddess completely free of reservation. While I have no idea what she is like personally, on camera she is the EPITOMY of a pantyhose Goddess – 110% positive energy and beauty/class/professionalism/good humor, 0% disappointment or regret from my end. For me it’s the personality that results. I love seeing her on camera, I love to imagine that she is every bit the woman she appears to be, and I envy the guy she chooses to call hers. I love the quote you provide from her. I give props to all the ladies you mentioned, but to me it was just so easy to conclude that Meredith carries the flag, the day. I admit I was surprised I gave no one else on this list consideration, especially when I took note of two of my all time favorites, Nicole Kidman and Catherine Zeta-Jones. Meredith is just the complete Pantyhose Goddess in my opinion – and completeness is just so appealing to me. Rock on, Goddess Vieira!

  6. hi!This was a really wonderful topic!
    I come from roma, I was fortunate to discover your topic in digg
    Also I get a lot in your theme really thanks very much i will come again

  7. Carl,

    Thanks for your compliment on my post, and for leaving a comment.

    Also, thanks for the nice words about ActSensuous.

    Robin

  8. Robin
    Firstly i would like to say what an outstanding posting.. A very interesting read..

    After reading your post.. One word stuck out..”admitted that she doesn’t wear anything underneath”

    To me that is a great sign of confidence and ultra femininity…

    To openly admit in public that you do not wear underwear under your pantyhose must mean that she is truly a genuine pantyhose lover..

    Here is the link to a video saying that she is not wearing underwear
    http://www.redbalcony.com/?vid=21404

    Meredith Vieira gets my vote for pantyhose Goddess.

    Take Care

    Carl

    PS: Every pantyhose Goddess needs Goddess pantyhose.. ActSensuous ActIII are Goddess pantyhose.. Wearing a pair is pantyhose “heaven”

What do you think?

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 72 other followers

